Running with wolves (and other recommended books)

This weekend I took a road trip to Canberra to spend time with some of my family and visit Floriade.

I expected my < 1 year old gorgeous little cousin to be smaller and I expected Floriade to be bigger. I had imagined fields of wild tulips for as far as the eye could see. Instead there were strategically positioned, finely manicured garden beds of tulips.

yellow tulips

I also expected to walk away with an oversupply of bulbs to have a go at growing them. Instead I walked away with an ‘all natural’ rubber broom set. They sweep, they mop, they clean and squeegee windows and I’ll never have to worry about lint rollers again because a pocket brush was included for pet hair.

Rubber brooms aside, I was very fortunate as the Exhibition Park in Canberra or EPIC as it’s known locally, was holding a Lifeline Book Expo. The expo hall and both its annexes were pinstriped with rows of trestle tables each laden with books, spines up and filling the hall with that vintage book/St Vincent’s de Paul ‘Old Musk’ smell.

Out of the thousands of books on display I happened upon Women Who Run With The Wolves.

This is one of the books that Lynette had recommended that I read. I mentioned another book in the first post so I thought I’d outline all the books she recommended.

Women Who Run With the Wolves – Clarissa Pinkola Estés

One Day My Soul Just Opened Up – Iyanla Vanzant

Anatomy of the Spirit – Caroline Myss

The Seat of the Soul – Gary Zukov

Facing Love Addiction – Pia Melody

Living Through the Meantime – Iylana Vanzant

Women Who Run with the Wolves has chapter headings like Resurrection of the wild woman, The wild flesh, Identifying leg traps, cages and poisoned bait, The boundaries of rage and forgiveness and Membership in the Scar Clan (among others). I’m a sucker for a good theme so I’m excited to get into it.

I was in the expo all of 20 minutes and heading to the exit had nine books in my arms. I dropped them all on a nearby table and walked out with one. With my gold coin donation the trip cost $4.

Sometimes the cheapest things to buy turn out to be the most valuable to own. Let’s hope it’s that way with this book.

PS Feel free to ‘friend‘ me on GoodReads if you’re on there as well!

One thought on “Running with wolves (and other recommended books)

  1. Pingback: Women who run with the wolves – Part review | A Spiritual Realignment

Share your thoughts

